Adam Lambert + a nude woman = Drama with a capital D!

So, Adam Lambert posed with a nude model.

Wow great, go Adam!

A nude female model.

OUTRAGE! How dare he??? Doesn’t he know he’s supposed to be gay???

That was the reaction from many fans after the scans of Adam’s latest photoshoot for Details magazine made it to the internet. Now, don’t get me wrong. The majority absolutely loved it, had some extra adamgasms to add to their daily count, and twatted Adam about how fucking sexy he was.

But let’s talk about that little minority group that did not like the pictures. Ah, them. There’re several reasons for their… uneasiness. Let’s analyze, shall we?

Some are, are you ready for this? – jealous. They’re… jealous. Alright, Adam’s got the point. He’s not allowed near naked women. Right. Gotcha. Moving on.

Some, and this is mainly the younger fans, are offended because of the nudity. Well, I’m sorry, but this is Adam Lambert we’re talking about. He’s a very sexual creature, and admit it, that is partly why you love the man. I realize they’ve got a point. They shouldn’t have these pictures thrown in their faces without warning. But folks, let’s get this clear. Adam Lambert always comes with a warning. Always. Because he is Adam Lambert.

And my personal favorite – He’s gay, he should not be posing with nude penis-less people. He’s not being true to himself. It’s not who he is. Why’s he doing this? I’m so confused!

Get a grip, people! Read the following points very carefully.

1. Details is a men’s magazine. The heteros out there do not want to see a naked man with a clothed man. Ask any of them. They prefer breasts to penises.

2. Read the damn article. It’s about women fantasizing about gay men i.e. Adam. The pictures denote those fantasies. Your fantasies, not his. Is the light beginning to dawn?

3. It’s called acting. He does one photoshoot with a nude woman and suddenly he’s being un-gay? Hell. Are Heath Ledger (RIP dude, I love you) and Jake Gyllenhaal gay because they acted in Brokeback Mountain?

4. It’s controversial, it got people talking, it got a whole drama going on, and that is exactly what Adam wanted. So yes, he is being true to himself. No, he hasn’t changed. Yes, he is gay. No, he did not sleep with her. Yes, he probably enjoyed it. No, I’m pretty sure he didn’t have a fight with Drake. Yes, the cow did jump over the moon.

1+2+3+4 = It was one fucking photoshoot. Get over it!

Now that you’ve all (hopefully) understood the idea behind the photoshoot, get yourself a glass of wine, sit back, relax, and enjoy those pictures!

I know there will be disagreement over what I’ve written, and really, I don’t give a shit. But please, if you’ve got a brilliantly nasty reply gelling in your head that you just have to tell the world, feel free to post it. I don’t promise to read it, but I’m sure it will give you some satisfaction.

39 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lamberkitten
    Oct 18, 2009 @ 18:31:20

    Great post. This is exactly what Adam should be doing – pleasing/shocking his fans all at the same time. Worked a treat for Madonna in her day.

    Reply

  2. Sealily
    Oct 18, 2009 @ 18:41:17

    Are you that voice lurking in my brain? I only asked because you have spewed forth almost exactly what I have been thinking…except that cow moon jumping bit. That was yours only.

    My tolerance level for stupidity took quite a hit yesterday. You can like or not the photos, but the speculation, the indignation, the hallucination, the implied domination? All too fucking much for me because despite being an analytical, intellectual, debate lover, they were just pictures!!!!

    Being true to my own self, I got some retail therapy!

    Reply

  3. Christiana
    Oct 18, 2009 @ 19:07:45

    I totally LOVED your blog entry called Adam + a nude woman…etc!
    LOVED it and your sense of humor and the fact that you are most likely 100% correct! Thank you for making my morning wonderful! I laughed so hard at “the cow jumped over the moon”! Please write more?? And thank you for putting things in the proper perspective! I love Adam, and my love for him supports his success and happiness. That is as far as I will ever take entitlement!

    Reply

  4. nvam
    Oct 18, 2009 @ 19:23:06

    Agree with every point you’ve made here.

    Reply

  5. MARLENA GAGE
    Oct 18, 2009 @ 19:27:08

    I AGREE WITH U 110%!!! ADAM IS HOT NO MATTER HIS SEXUAL PREFERENCE!! IF ANY OF U READ HIS ROLLING STONE INTERVIEW HE DID MENTION THAT HIS IS BI-CURIOUS & THAT “JUST BECAUSE I AM NOT STICKING IT IN THERE; DOESN’T MEAN THAT I DON’T FIND IT BEAUTIFUL”!! SEXUALITY IS UNIVERSAL!!!

    Reply

  6. mandi
    Oct 18, 2009 @ 19:32:57

    ha you rock i love the pictures both adam adam and the girl looked VERy sexy

    Reply

  7. BevyOBevie
    Oct 18, 2009 @ 19:45:42

    An addition to # 3…if Adam becomes an actor, will these fans accept him in a straight man role or must he always play a gay man? After the initial OMG and my breath returned … I thought…you go Adam. Right to the edge. Love these photos.

    Reply

  8. Paula C
    Oct 18, 2009 @ 19:59:27

    those pictures will inspire my wildest fantasies for Months. He is the most beautiful man I have ever seen. Gay or straight he is the sexiest man I have ever seen. Hey straight guys out there take some hints from Adam Lambert. He is what women want. No matter what their age is. Now the real bonus here is that he can sing his face off. thanks for the blog. I feel the same!

    Reply

  9. Jory
    Oct 18, 2009 @ 20:24:28

    srsly u said it best i can’t add anything to that .. absolutely true .. those were one fcking hot pics and Adam is still treu to himself and this is only fantisy ppl calm down !! Adam is entertainer actor and singer and this is all fun and dress up 😀 i luv u so so fcking much Adam and u blow me away everytime God bless u 🙂

    Reply

  10. Kathy
    Oct 18, 2009 @ 20:26:07

    Awesome! I am so glad most people seem to get this! Yesterday I managed to mostly discuss the pictures with people who where highly offended that he would dare have pictures like that taken with a naked woman and was getting really frustrated.

    Reply

  11. Mandy Lou
    Oct 18, 2009 @ 20:37:13

    Love your blog on this – it could be me talking – I love the pictures – they are artistic & sexy & yes Adam is only acting. For heavens sake some of GIFS which we going round when AI was touring were far more sexually explicit – with the crotch grabs & gyrating pelvis. Adam never fails to excite & shock me & that is exactly what I love about him.

    Reply

  12. Carrie
    Oct 18, 2009 @ 20:40:43

    Adam just fueled the fantasies of thousands of women worldwide, which is exactly the kind of attention he wanted. In a way, I feel like he was giving us all a huge gift, because we all know, as he said, “it ain’t happening!” He will never walk the the sure, boring path in life. I think this is only the tip of the iceberg for this wonderful, talented, beautiful man. He’s making us all forget about gay or straight – as it should be.

    Reply

  13. Rosanne
    Oct 18, 2009 @ 20:44:19

    I just hope the model was an Adam fan. If some lucky bitch gets to do that photoshoot with him, it ought to be one who can properly appreciate it.

    Reply

  14. Nina
    Oct 18, 2009 @ 20:53:48

    Everything you said. Exactly. And yes, the fact that he should come with a warning label only makes him that much more appealing.

    Reply

  15. Trackback: uberVU - social comments
  16. deedee
    Oct 18, 2009 @ 20:55:47

    Nice job hun!!! You expressed my feeling exactly ever since I went to AO and read all the comments people were making as they freaked out. I think the biggest problem here is the younger folks who have a “defined” version of GAY in their minds. I saw one girl say “Adam doesnt like women” I was like….he doesnt?? When did he say that?? Truth is he didnt, but we have a mass of very young fans on AO and online in general who just got an eyeful of exactly what they invisioned Adam not to be.

    When your young like that its hard to differentiate real from what you see on TV, movies and in print. Sometimes your brain messes with you. I remember that as a preteen/teen myself.

    Anyway, good job, your 100% right and I have a feeling we will be the ones trying to make those others who dont get it, to understand. Hopefully this will not cause Adam to loose younger fans cause honestly he needs them to stay radio popular.

    Reply

  17. Linda
    Oct 18, 2009 @ 21:12:59

    I loved every word. Adam is in your face, that is why we loved him on Idol, and why we will continue to love everything he does.I for one, will enter the have your pic taken with Adam contest. If I don’t win, I’ll simply photoshop my head for hers!
    Gotta have a sense of humor people.

    Reply

  18. Sassy
    Oct 18, 2009 @ 21:18:24

    Adam is an entertainer and this is entertainment.
    He is an actor/entertainer playing a part.
    We enjoyed the article and its pictures!
    No drama there. Just Adam at his best!

    Reply

  19. frenchy
    Oct 18, 2009 @ 21:36:53

    You made me laugh hysterically. Great article. Every word you said reflects exactly how I feel. I just thought it was silly how some people were like why would he do this? He is a great singer! He doesn’t have to do this, but why not? Just because he is gay doesn’t mean he can’t take pictures with a lady. that doesn’t change who he is?? Right.

    Reply

  20. sharon
    Oct 18, 2009 @ 21:59:35

    I am so happy about this poster saying exactly what’s been on my mind since yesterday. But I don’t think it’s the younger fans that are being negative as much as some of the older ones. The comments I’ve read are made by women my age; I think the younger fans are more worried about their parents reactions. It’s so sad that our society is still so conservative about sex and what is proper behavior. These pictures are just art and nothing more. Some of the neg. posters are the first ones to yell “Freedom of Speech” rights as long as it benefits their own agendas. But oh no beautiful pictures of Adam and a lovely naked woman should not be exposed to the public. Hypocrates!!!
    BTW: She is not completely naked. Look again and so what if she was? I applaude Adam for doing this photoshoot. We need to focus on his music now and get over this ditraction and move on to the business of promoting Adam’s music;TFM,2012 soundtrack and his new debut album.

    Reply

  21. Elizabeth
    Oct 18, 2009 @ 22:29:32

    Adam’s publicity machine is in full gear, and I think they are doing a brilliant job. Simon Fuller, RCA and the suits at Sony Music are backing our boy 100%. What an amazing, amazing career Adam is going to have, and we all get to come along for the ride. And by the way, you will never convince me that Adam Lambert did not LOOOOOVE that photo shoot.

    Reply

  22. wax
    Oct 18, 2009 @ 22:31:36

    The issue I have with this shoot is the same one I have with just about every spread in this mag (and its peers) – the woman is a nameless prop without agency.

    Reply

  23. scopiogal
    Oct 18, 2009 @ 22:47:46

    LMAO RIGHT ON! I thought it was just another FABULOUS performance from Adam!! I think the teeny boppers are the ones really shocked right now, not secure, adult lovers of great talent. He is actually my hero… Thanks for writing this..I hope Adam reads it….

    Reply

  24. LolaforAdam
    Oct 18, 2009 @ 22:59:23

    Hey, are you secretly Neil Lambert? Hahaha, I loved your post. These are my thoughts exactly. Adam Lambert already comes with a warning. Hawt hawt hawt – enjoy at your own risk.
    Love it!

    Reply

  25. LuLu
    Oct 19, 2009 @ 00:01:05

    As a photographer myself, I think the photographs are beautiful whether Adam is in them or not. Having Adam as the subject matter just made them better.=) However, I do have a friend who was bashed rather harshly for expressing her opinions that she did not like them. Her comments were made on the style and content not the people in the photographs. It could have been another famous musician/model and she would have made the same comments. But because people did not thoroughly read her statements and jumped the gun to Adam’s defense (Adam was never mentioned in her comments) she has received a backlash of harsh and aggressive responses.

    Just as I feel everyone has the right to comment, positively or negatively, I also feel that people in general should respect opinions and not judge or easily respond agressivley because we are not face to face and in person. The computer makes it real easy for everyone to have technical courage and strength because they are not dirctly saying this to and in front of another human being. It’s very easy to write words, it’s very difficult to say them.

    Reply

  26. JoJo
    Oct 19, 2009 @ 00:02:57

    Glad you pointed out that the majority don’t feel the same way. Most of us have our head screwed on right. The lamest of all excuses is “he’s not being true to himself”. “He’s selling out”. I tell you if I could go through the computer screen and slap those idiots upside the head I would. To tell Adam he is not being true to himself or selling out because he is doing a pictoral in a men’s mag is the height of stupidity and ignorance. Read the stupid article and see what’s it’s about. Adam’s in show business. He has to market himself lame-heads. He doesn’t have to always walk around with a man attached to his hip to be true to himself.

    Reply

  27. Melody
    Oct 19, 2009 @ 00:09:53

    To the writer thank you for being sane…some people get totally kafutzed if they can’t put others into neat tidy identification boxes.We all have male/female or ying/yang in us.. let’s enjoy Adam’s courage to explore and maybe just maybe he’ll teach those who are scared of any kind of change ,to enjoy life to its fullest.

    Reply

  28. fcf
    Oct 19, 2009 @ 01:26:29

    Exactly!

    Reply

  29. Sadie
    Oct 19, 2009 @ 01:57:41

    I THINK IT;S GREAT!!!! He did say he was bi-curious.Maybe he’s discovering things about himself.So what.Everything he does is fine with me!And you have to admit…..Damn sexy!!!

    Reply

  30. spaced
    Oct 19, 2009 @ 02:35:03

    WOW, stunning photography! Both gorgeous models. Amazing interview too.

    Reply

  31. Michelle Sheehan
    Oct 19, 2009 @ 02:35:20

    What’s the big deal..Adam is Adam…beauty is universal…I’m a lesbian,and believe me I can sure appreciate a hunk of a guy. LIKE ADAM!!! Abd for the closed minded or uneducated hetero’s, being gay isn’t just about the physicality of a relationship, it’s the emotional, intimate sense of closeness that you can more easily achieve with one of your own sex. And when you reach that close intimacy, then comes the physical aspect. In a healthy relationship, that should be the order of things..anyway, Adam is one of the most sexy man I have ever seen, beaautiful on the outside and his honesty makes him beautiful on the inside as well. You rock Adam, continue to be true to yourself and we anticipate many, many years of you entertaining us with your music, your beauty, your vib and all the light you send to us all!!!!

    Reply

  32. lmao
    Oct 19, 2009 @ 02:49:45

    AfuckinMEN. I really hope Adam shakes off most of the deluded, prudish ‘fans’ who were offended by this stunning shoot. They crack me up big time.

    Reply

  33. Izela
    Oct 19, 2009 @ 05:44:50

    *applause* Seriously, the shoot was stunning and I loved it. I really enjoyed this – especially 1, 2, 3 and 4. They were basically my thoughts, only on text and with better grammar.

    Reply

  34. Carol
    Oct 19, 2009 @ 07:41:41

    Brilliant, Adam! Absolutely brilliant. Once again he is the topic of conversation everywhere and people are paying attention. It doesn’t matter whether it is negative or positive, people are talking. Madonna used to do the same thing and her publicity stunts have kept her at the top of the charts for over 20 years. I am in awe of his business and publicity brilliance and he doesn’t even have a single or album out yet.

    Reply

  35. minkabeth
    Oct 19, 2009 @ 07:54:12

    Pure BRILLIANCE!!!!!!!! LOOOOOOOVED it!!!!!!!

    Reply

  36. Gret
    Oct 19, 2009 @ 09:15:59

    Great post! Loving every word of it!

    Reply

  37. Jenn
    Oct 19, 2009 @ 11:40:01

    I didn’t like the photos and it wasn’t for any of those reasons. Ever think that maybe some people just don’t want to see Adam Lambert licking a chick’s breast? Maybe some people find it gross? Not because it’s a woman, not because we’re young, not because we’re jealous…but because it’s just…ew. And don’t say, “Well then don’t look at the pictures.” As a fan of Adam’s, how can I avoid them?! They’re all the over the websites I go on. I guess because I’m not some middle aged woman having an “adamgasm” over these pictures (because my 50 yr old husband isn’t giving me any), I’m going to be criticized.

    Reply

  38. SeenZ
    Oct 20, 2009 @ 08:04:31

    @Jenn: I believe that falls under category 2.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

